FAD EMEA 2008

I really enjoyed FAD EMEA 2008.

Friday was a great day: I met Max and Sandro on the train to Basel, we talked about the Ambassadors Project situation and I asked few things about Switzerland. After we left the luggages in the hotel, we had a short (2hrs) meeting at Pinguin Pub, one of the most well served and quality pub in Basel. Moreover I really liked the dinner at the Chinese restaurant and I enjoyed the community atmosphere.

After that we went to Basel University where we started working, here we discussed about Membership. Joerg made a great presentation on what AMAs (Ambassadors Membership Administrators) have done and the results gained after the new Membership policies took place. I saw a big interest on this topic and I think Joerg has collected a lot of interesting feedbacks to improve the overall ambassadors experience.

Before the end of the evening meeting a small accident happened to Sandro, he was wounded but, fortunately, it could be able to continue managing the event during the next days.

Saturday was the most hard and funny day of the whole event. In the morning we talked about:

Consulting: Jeroen proposed to create a group of developers that could hold some "training courses" in some businesses: then, using the resources they could get from those ones, improve the Fedora infrastructure. The proposal sounded good and people agreed on this one.

Events: this was the biggest discussion we had (it took approximately a day to discuss about this one). Max talked about how resources are managed around the world, on the budget for the next EMEA events, particularly on the next FUDCon and LinuxTAG. Mark Jung, a member of LinuxTAG e.V., illustrated some of the ideas behind next year LinuxTag and we tried to figure out how Fedora could be present there. We also take a look at next year FUDCon: we decided to investigate on a range of possible places and then take a decision according to the result. From the Italian Ambassadors sides, we had also the possibility to report about LinuxDay: Luca Foppiano made a great job, describing what it was done and the results. We discussed about other events (like FOSDEM) too, Max listed all the events according to the financial quarter and the resources, and we were able to easily have the whole situation for the next year.

Training/Classroom: Joerg had the great idea to organize some fedora classrooms for new ambassadors to guide them into the project and into events organization. We all agreed with this idea and I, personally, like to see this in action as soon as possible.

In the afternoon we had the pleasure to visit Basel downtown, a local LUG member guided us around it and told us about its marvelous history. After we had dinner in a 100% Switzerland restaurant where we could taste Basel Founde and a chestnuts "cake". The day isn’t finished: after the social event we had the last part of the meeting where we finished the discussion about events and Max asked all the members what they think could be the next step in the Ambassadors Project: it was an interesting question, I was happy to see people sharing their vision and help everyone figuring out what to do for the future (at least in EMEA).

On Sunday, before I left FAD, I had the possibility to visit, with the other ambassadors, the University Botanic Garden, here the guide showed us amazing plants and flowers: I think we not only admired the marvelous colors and shape of those species, we, also, learned a lot of things about interaction and evolution. I know it could sound scholastic but the basics of community interactions could be strictly compared with plants life in an environment. BTW, we enjoyed the visit and, while the other had another day of work I took the train for my home.

I really liked the event. I want to thank Sandro and Max for their amazing job organizing the event, Andreas Rau that made possible to hold the event, giving us a cool room at the university and a working internet connection too, and all the attendees that joined the discussion and helped building a better future for EMEA and, generally, for the whole Fedora community.

I want, finally, to thank Joerg Simon, one of the most active ambassadors and a great person, who gave me a lot of suggestions and encouraged me to add my name in the FAmSCo nomination page. For that reason I want to thank also Francesco Crippa, Luca Foppiano and Gianluca Varisco: I hope they would nominate themselves too!

P.S. I tried to remember all the most important activities, BTW sometime I can forget something, so let me know.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

